Skip to main content

Digital transformation projects, which involve changes throughout the company's value chain, present significant challenges for a project office. The most common ones are: a more or less clear strategy, resistance to change, lack of resources or the complexity of the project itself.

In response, the project management office (PMO) must of course demonstrate strong leadership and exemplary project management. But it must also demonstrate a good ability to adapt. It must make the organization capable of "turning on a dime" as they say!

It is to meet this last need that the Agile methodology, first developed for software development projects, is gaining more and more followers in the broader field of management and governance.

A transition to agility throughout an organization brings several benefits: increased involvement (engagement), more efficient collaboration, flexibility of execution. Without going into the methodological details, we will outline these benefits in a little more detail.

Agility:

A process

The approach consists of an interactive and iterative strategy that begins with the expression of the "why" (the raison d'être) and continues with the definition of business objectives. It then produces a roadmap that allows the company to plan its strategy based on the following fundamental questions

  1. What are our main challenges, and in what order will we tackle them?
  2. What are the related costs?
  3. What are the measurable success criteria?

Then it's about execution, which means that once the strategy and objectives are identified, test solutions, measure the results, then adjust the solution and measure the results again... and so on. This is the essence of the iterative approach.

Measuring results also includes qualitative feedback from stakeholders. An agile project team will have direct access to them. Does the solution meet the needs of customers, users, employees, partners, management? Another name for this approach is "fail fast", since we are not afraid to test solutions that we know are imperfect or incomplete, the value being as much in this consultation and co-creation process as in the final result.

A driver of innovation

This approach facilitates innovation as it creates opportunities for continuous learning about the needs of the market and the broader organizational ecosystem. By developing a solution to a problem, one often comes to identify other problems, in addition to learning how to better solve the problems already known. This multiplies business opportunities and increases the company's ability to adapt to change.

A risk reducer

On the other hand, we can see worries or needs while they are still small and we act on them immediately. This means that we are better able to manage risks. Of course, we cannot seize all opportunities or eliminate all risks. This is why the agile approach also consists of constantly re-prioritizing initiatives on the roadmap - a roadmap which, you guessed it, will evolve from quarter to quarter, without ever losing sight of the vision, the mission (or strategy) and the business objectives.

A vehicle for transparency

What agility also brings to organizations, which is crucial when it comes to initiating digital transformation projects, is transparency - the transparency of "bottom up" management. Agility allows the company to be more responsive to its employees at all levels and allows them to contribute in a meaningful way. Obviously, this translates into much greater job satisfaction.

In conclusion, agile organizations can be more innovative, more resilient and (yes!) more agile because they foster a culture of collaboration and transparency where all ideas are welcome. In the best cases, they facilitate access to real-time data (operations dashboards and performance metrics) to empower everyone to validate actions taken upstream or to adjust their focus. This is what some people call "evidence-based management", a topic we'll probably cover in a future article!

André-Claude Potvin
Director, Program Management Office (PgMO) 

Our team is at your disposal

Leave a Reply

Skip to main content

Les projets de transformation numérique, qui impliquent des mutations sur toute la chaîne de valeur de l’entreprise, présentent des défis importants pour un bureau de projet. Les plus fréquents sont : une stratégie plus ou moins claire, la résistance au changement, la pénurie de ressources ou encore la complexité même du projet.  

En réponse, le bureau de projet (PMO) doit bien sûr démontrer un solide leadership et exercer une maîtrise d’œuvre exemplaire. Mais il doit aussi démontrer une bonne capacité d’adaptation. Il doit rendre l’organisation capable de « virer sur un 10¢ » comme on dit! 

C’est pour répondre à ce dernier besoin que la méthodologie Agile, d’abord développée pour des projets de développement logiciel, gagne de plus en plus d’adeptes dans le domaine plus large du management et de la gouvernance. 

Une transition vers l’agilité à travers une organisation apporte plusieurs bénéfices : hausse de l’implication (engagement), collaboration plus efficiente, flexibilité d’exécution. Sans aborder les détails méthodologiques, nous exposerons un peu plus en détails ces bénéfices. 

L’agilité:

Un processus

L’approche consiste en une stratégie interactive et itérative qui commence par l’expression du « pourquoi » (la raison d’être) et se poursuit avec la définition d’objectifs d’affaires. Elle accouche ensuite d’une feuille de route qui permet à l’entreprise de planifier sa stratégie en fonction des questionnements fondamentaux qui sont : 

  1. Quels sont nos principaux défis, et dans quel ordre allons-nous les attaquer? 
  2. Quels sont les coûts liés?  
  3. Quels sont les critères de succès mesurables?  

Ensuite, il s’agit d’exécuter, c’est-à-dire qu’une fois que la stratégie et les objectifs sont identifiés, il faut tester des solutions, mesurer les résultats, puis ajuster la solution et mesurer à nouveau les résultats… et ainsi de suite. C’est l’essence de l’approche itérative.  

La mesure des résultats inclut par ailleurs le feedback qualitatif des parties prenantes. Une équipe de projet agile aura un accès direct à celles-ci. Est-ce que la solution répond aux besoins des clients, des utilisateurs, des employés, des partenaires, de la direction? Un autre nom pour cette approche est le « fail fast », puisqu’on n’a pas peur de tester des solutions que l’on sait imparfaites ou incomplètes, la valeur étant autant dans cette consultation et le processus de « co-création » que dans le résultat final. 

Un moteur d’innovation

Cette approche facilite l’innovation puisqu’elle crée des opportunités d’apprentissage en continu sur les besoins du marché et plus largement de l’écosystème organisationnel. En développant une solution à un problème, on en vient souvent à identifier d’autres problèmes, en plus d’apprendre à mieux solutionner les problèmes déjà connus. Cela multiplie les opportunités d’affaires et augmente la capacité d’adaptation de l’entreprise au changement.  

Un réducteur de risques

Par ailleurs, on voit venir les soucis ou les besoins alors qu’ils sont encore petits et on agit sur eux immédiatement. Ce qui veut donc dire que l’on arrive mieux à gérer les risques. Bien entendu, on ne peut saisir toutes les opportunités ou éliminer tous les risques. C’est pourquoi l’approche agile consiste aussi à constamment re-prioriser les initiatives sur la feuille de route – un roadmap qui vous l’aurez deviné, va évoluer de trimestre en trimestre, sans jamais perdre de vue la vision, la mission (ou la stratégie) et les objectifs d’affaires.  

Un vecteur de transparence

Ce que l’agilité apporte aussi aux organisations, qui est crucial lorsque vient le moment d’amorcer des projets de transformation numérique, c’est la transparence – la transparence d’une gestion « bottom up » (de la base au sommet). L’agilité permet à l’entreprise d’être plus à l’écoute de ses employés à tous les niveaux et leur permet de contribuer de manière significative. Évidemment, cela se traduit par une satisfaction au travail beaucoup plus grande. 

En conclusion, les organisations agiles peuvent être plus innovantes, plus résiliantes et (oui!) plus agiles parce qu’elles encouragent une culture de la collaboration et de la transparence où toutes les idées sont bienvenues. Dans les meilleurs cas, elles facilitent l’accès aux données en temps réel (tableaux de bord des opérations et indices de performance) afin d’habiliter chacun à valider les actions prises en amont ou à ajuster le tir. C’est ce que certains appellent le « management basé sur les faits » (evidence-based management), un sujet que nous aborderons sans doute dans un prochain article! 

André-Claude Potvin
Directeur, Bureau de gestion de programmes (PgMO) 

Notre équipe est à votre disposition

Leave a Reply