Skip to main content

Towards an explosion of e-commerce

ecommerce
Credit: @PhotoMIX Company

Over the past two years, COVID-19 has disrupted consumer habits through lockdowns, curfews, non-essential store closures and other health measures.

One of the big winners in this health crisis is e-commerce. In 2020, 80% of Canadians made a transaction online compared to 73% in 2018. They also spent $84.4 billion online, compared to $57.4 billion in 2018. And, according to e-marketer, the trend will continue: sales are expected to reach more than 105 billion as early as 2025. So e-commerce is here to stay.

Towards a new way of consuming

The pandemic has changed consumers' attitudes and buying habits. Thus, they are turning more and more to local, organic and responsible products. The Blue Basket platform, which offers "made in Quebec" products, is the result of this craze. In addition, several sites now have filters for local or ecological products, and consumers are increasingly demanding to know the origin of the goods as well as their composition.

Consumers are also buying more and more second-hand or refurbished products. The second life market is booming as shown by the new initiatives of Souris Mini, Vinted or Upcycli, which allow people to buy or sell second hand clothes or products.

Towards the end of the traditional store?

Phygital store

Some would say that e-commerce is the end of small businesses. On the contrary, it should be considered as a business opportunity and a possibility of growth. It is a chance to change your business model, to reorganize and especially to better respond to the needs and expectations of your customers.

Moreover, despite the meteoric growth of e-commerce in Canada, the so-called "traditional" or "offline" retail sector still represents more than 85% of sales in North America according to CBRE.

Towards the best of both worlds

The question is not whether the store is dying, but rather how the physical and digital worlds can and will coexist. Consumers are becoming increasingly indistinguishable between the two, and new demands are being made as a result.

The first strategy for retailers is to make the customer journey more seamless and increase the compatibility between online and offline commerce. Phygital (a contraction of the words "physical" and "digital") is a new trend that

combines the physical and digital worlds to offer customers a new experience and strengthen ties with them: techno and digital experience in store (like the Burberry store in London), humanization of the website (live shopping, for example), improvement of the customer experience (delivery in a few hours, optimization of payment methods, in-store pick-up, etc.).

The proximity with the customer has also become one of the challenges of e-commerce. The goal is to enter the circle of intimacy of the consumer as have done very well brands such as Netflix and Amazon.

E-commerce and physical stores still have many years ahead of them. However, the hardest part is still to be done: pooling their efforts and finding a synergy in order to meet customers' needs and, above all, to build loyalty!

Sources:

Statistics Canada. Canadians' online shopping in 2020. Results of the Internet Use Survey. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/pub/11-627-m/11-627-m2021048-fra.htm

Arielle Feger, "Canada's ecommerce sales to reach nearly $80 billion in 2022," Insider Intelligence/eMarketer, February 8, 2022, https://www.insiderintelligence.com/content/canada-s-ecommerce-sales-reach-nearly-80-billion-2022

Alex Wang. "What Is the Share of E-Commerce in Overall Retail Sales?", CBRE, https://www.cbre.com/insights/articles/omnichannel-what-is-the-share-of-e-commerce-in-overall-retail-sales

Leave a Reply

Skip to main content

Vers une explosion du commerce électronique

ecommerce
Crédit : @PhotoMIX Company

Ces deux dernières années, la COVID-19 a bouleversé les habitudes des consommateurs en raison des confinements, du couvre-feu, des fermetures de magasins non essentiels et d’autres mesures sanitaires.

L’un des grands gagnants de cette crise sanitaire est le commerce électronique. En 2020, 80% des Canadiens ont fait une transaction en ligne comparativement à 73 % en 2018. Ils ont également dépensé 84,4 milliards de dollars en ligne, comparativement à 57,4 milliards de dollars en 2018. Et, selon e-marketer, la tendance va se poursuivre: les ventes devraient atteindre plus de 105 milliards dès 2025. Le commerce électronique est donc là pour rester.

Vers une nouvelle façon de consommer

La pandémie a fait évoluer les mentalités et les habitudes d’achat des consommateurs. Ainsi, ils se tournent de plus en plus sur les produits locaux, biologiques et responsables. La plateforme Le Panier bleu, qui propose des produits « faits au Québec », découle de cet engouement. Par ailleurs, plusieurs sites ont maintenant des filtres pour les produits locaux ou écologiques, et les consommateurs exigent de plus en plus de connaître la provenance des marchandises ainsi que leur composition.

Les consommateurs achètent également de plus en plus de produits d’occasion ou remis à neuf. Le marché de la seconde vie est en pleine expansion comme le montrent les nouvelles initiatives de Souris Mini, Vinted ou encore Upcycli, qui permettent aux gens d’acheter ou de vendre des vêtements ou produits de seconde main.

Vers la fin du magasin traditionnel ?

Magasin phygital

Certains diront que le commerce électronique contribue à la fin des petits commerces. Au contraire, il faut plutôt le considérer comme une occasion d’affaires et une possibilité de croissance. C’est une chance de changer son modèle d’affaires, de se réorganiser et surtout de mieux répondre aux besoins et attentes des clients.

Par ailleurs, malgré la croissance fulgurante du commerce électronique au Canada, le secteur du détail dit « traditionnel » ou « hors ligne » représente toujours plus de 85% des ventes en Amérique du Nord selon CBRE.

Vers le meilleur de deux mondes

La question n’est donc pas de savoir si le magasin se meurt, mais plutôt comment les mondes physique et numérique peuvent et vont cohabiter. Car les consommateurs font de moins en moins de différence entre les deux, et de nouvelles exigences en découlent.

La première stratégie des détaillants consiste à rendre le parcours client plus fluide et à accroître la compatibilité entre le commerce en ligne et le commerce hors ligne. Le phygital (contraction des mots « physical » et « digital ») est une nouvelle tendance qui

associe les univers physique et numérique pour offrir aux clients une nouvelle expérience et resserrer les liens avec eux : expérience techno et numérique en magasin (comme le magasin Burberry à Londres), humanisation du site Web (magasinage en direct, par exemple), amélioration de l’expérience client (livraison en quelques heures, optimisation des modes de paiement, ramassage en magasin, etc.).

La proximité avec le client est également devenue un des enjeux du commerce électronique. Le but est d’entrer dans le cercle d’intimité du consommateur comme ont très bien su le faire des enseignes telles que Netflix et Amazon.

Le commerce électronique et le magasin physique ont donc encore de belles années devant eux. Cependant, le plus dur reste à faire : mutualiser leurs efforts et trouver une synergie afin de répondre aux besoins de la clientèle et, surtout, de la fidéliser!

Sources :

Statistique Canada. Les achats en ligne des Canadiens en 2020. Résultats de l’enquête sur l’utilisation d’Internet. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/pub/11-627-m/11-627-m2021048-fra.htm

Arielle Feger. « Canada’s ecommerce sales to reach nearly $80 billion in 2022 », Insider Intelligence/eMarketer, 8 février 2022, https://www.insiderintelligence.com/content/canada-s-ecommerce-sales-reach-nearly-80-billion-2022

Alex Wang. « What Is the Share of E-Commerce in Overall Retail Sales? », CBRE, https://www.cbre.com/insights/articles/omnichannel-what-is-the-share-of-e-commerce-in-overall-retail-sales

Leave a Reply